Compare
Moor vs. DockDoor
DockDoor Pro is the window-preview specialist. Moor has previews and a switcher too, and adds revenue, CI and coding-agent widgets.
Who wins where
Where DockDoor wins
It costs $20 for up to three Macs, has a taskbar style, an AppleScript dictionary and a community widget marketplace. Source: pro.dockdoor.net
Where Moor wins
Revenue, CI and coding-agent widgets, an MCP server and a command-line tool, importers, and the safety net of getting Apple's Dock back when you quit. DockDoor's page doesn't list them.
Task by task
| Task | DockDoor Pro | Moor |
|---|---|---|
| Works as your main Dock | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Clones the Apple Dock, then replaces it. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Quit Moor and Apple's Dock comes back. |
| Several docks at once | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)The page describes Dock profiles, not several docks on screen together. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)As many as you like. |
| A dock on every display, on any edge | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026) | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Or a dock that follows the pointer or the active window. |
| Window previews on hover | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Live window thumbnails. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Needs the Screen Recording permission. |
| Window switcher | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)A Command-Tab replacement. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Press Option-Tab, type to filter. |
| Taskbar mode (one button per window) | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)A taskbar style across the screen. | No (see Moor's documentation)Not in Moor 1.4. Moor shows running apps, and scrolls them when the bar is full. |
| Saved setups you switch between | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Dock profiles, switched by app focus. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Switch by keystroke, swipe, Shortcuts, or when your monitors change. |
| Live widgets in the dock | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Nearly 50 built in, plus a community marketplace. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)50 built in. |
| Revenue, CI and coding-agent widgets | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Not on its page. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Stripe, Shopify, RevenueCat, CI, deploys, Claude Code, Codex and more. |
| Folders and stacks | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026) | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Fan, grid or list. |
| File shelf | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)A File Tray. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Drop files on the Shelf tile, carry them between apps. |
| App launcher or Start menu | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)A Control Center with search and app launching. | Partial (see Moor's documentation)Search (Control-Option-F) finds apps, files and actions. There is no Start-menu launcher. |
| Themes | Partial (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Liquid Glass, frosted and solid looks with accent colors; the page does not call them themes. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Seven built in, and your own. |
| Magnification | Yes (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Spring-driven. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Up to 2x, with a spring. |
| Import from other dock apps | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)Its page only describes cloning the Apple Dock. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)uBar, ActiveDock, or any dock app's settings file. |
| MCP server and command-line tool | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)It lists AppleScript; MCP and a command-line tool are not mentioned. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)An MCP server, a local API, a moor command and moor:// links. |
| Price | $20 once, up to 3 Macs (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026) | $29 once. Moor 1.x updates are included. (see Moor's documentation) |
| Free trial | 48 hours (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026) | 14 days, every feature, no card. 30-day refund. (see Moor's documentation) |
| Needs | Not stated (source: pro.dockdoor.net, checked 26 October 2026)No general minimum is stated; some features name a macOS version. | macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, Apple silicon (see Moor's documentation) |
Pick any answer to open the page it came from. Checked 26 October 2026. Not stated means the page doesn't say, which is not the same as no.
Switch from DockDoor in three steps
Download Moor and open it
Moor saves your current Dock before it changes anything. Moor has no DockDoor importer, but Import from Another Dock App… takes any dock app's settings file.
Choose Moor's dock
In the setup guide pick Moor's dock. It starts with the apps already in your Dock. Apple's Dock hides while Moor's is on.
Turn on what you used
Window previews are in Settings → Docks → Window previews (they need Screen Recording). Press Option-Tab for the switcher. Quit DockDoor when you're happy.
Try Moor free for 14 days
$29 once, 14-day free trial, no card
$– – of – left at this price then $–
macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, Apple silicon. Quit Moor and Apple's Dock comes right back.
More: all Dock apps compared, Moor vs. uBar, Moor vs. ActiveDock, Moor vs. Apple's Dock.