Compare
Moor vs. Apple's Dock
Apple's Dock is fine until you want more than one. Moor adds docks on every screen and edge, live widgets and one-key setups, and hands the Dock back when you quit.
Who wins where
Where Apple's Dock wins
It is built into macOS, so there is nothing to install, pay for or trust. Source: support.apple.com
Where Moor wins
Several docks, live widgets in the dock, setups you switch with a keystroke, a file shelf, and revenue and agent widgets. None of these are in Apple's Dock settings.
Task by task
| Task | Apple's Dock | Moor |
|---|---|---|
| Works as your main Dock | Yes (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)It is the Dock. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Quit Moor and Apple's Dock comes back. |
| Several docks at once | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)macOS has one Dock. Its settings page has no option for more. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)As many as you like. |
| A dock on every display, on any edge | Partial (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)One Dock on the left, bottom or right. It shows on every display only when Displays have separate Spaces is on. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Or a dock that follows the pointer or the active window. |
| Window previews on hover | Not stated (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Apple's Dock guide does not describe window previews. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Needs the Screen Recording permission. |
| Window switcher | Partial (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Command-Tab switches apps; Command-` cycles one app's windows. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Press Option-Tab, type to filter. |
| Taskbar mode (one button per window) | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Its settings page has no such mode. | No (see Moor's documentation)Not in Moor 1.4. Moor shows running apps, and scrolls them when the bar is full. |
| Saved setups you switch between | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Switch by keystroke, swipe, Shortcuts, or when your monitors change. |
| Live widgets in the dock | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Widgets live on the desktop and in Stage Manager, not in the Dock. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)50 built in. |
| Revenue, CI and coding-agent widgets | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Stripe, Shopify, RevenueCat, CI, deploys, Claude Code, Codex and more. |
| Folders and stacks | Yes (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Fan, grid or list. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Fan, grid or list. |
| File shelf | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Drop files on the Shelf tile, carry them between apps. |
| App launcher or Start menu | Yes (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Apps, with Fn-Shift-A, in macOS Tahoe 26. | Partial (see Moor's documentation)Search (Control-Option-F) finds apps, files and actions. There is no Start-menu launcher. |
| Themes | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Seven built in, and your own. |
| Magnification | Yes (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)A slider sets how much icons grow. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)Up to 2x, with a spring. |
| Import from other dock apps | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)uBar, ActiveDock, or any dock app's settings file. |
| MCP server and command-line tool | No (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026)Not among the Dock's settings. | Yes (see Moor's documentation)An MCP server, a local API, a moor command and moor:// links. |
| Price | Built into macOS (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026) | $29 once. Moor 1.x updates are included. (see Moor's documentation) |
| Free trial | Built into macOS (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026) | 14 days, every feature, no card. 30-day refund. (see Moor's documentation) |
| Needs | Comes with macOS (source: support.apple.com, checked 26 October 2026) | macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, Apple silicon (see Moor's documentation) |
Pick any answer to open the page it came from. Checked 26 October 2026. Not stated means the page doesn't say, which is not the same as no.
Try Moor in three steps
Download Moor and open it
Moor saves your current Dock first, in case you want it back.
Choose Moor's dock
In the setup guide pick Moor's dock. It starts with the apps already in your Dock, so there is nothing to rebuild. Apple's Dock hides while Moor's is on.
Go back any time
Quit Moor, or choose Restore Original Dock in the menu bar or Settings, and Apple's Dock is back exactly as it was.
Try Moor free for 14 days
$29 once, 14-day free trial, no card
$– – of – left at this price then $–
macOS 26 (Tahoe) or later, Apple silicon. Quit Moor and Apple's Dock comes right back.
More: all Dock apps compared, Moor vs. uBar, Moor vs. ActiveDock, Moor vs. DockDoor.